Spell creation tutorial?

Help - Resources - AI Scripting - Grafting - Plugins - Modding Projects
The Watcher

Spell creation tutorial?

Postby The Watcher » Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:41 pm

Hey everyone!

I'm new to modding and starting to learn my way around the software and methods, but one thing I want to do that I don't even know where to start is making new abilities for my units. I tried searching the forums here and at campaigncreations, as well as searching for tutorials on google, but haven't had any luck. Can anyone direct me to a tutorial they know of? If it helps, I'm using PyMS v1.2.1. Thanks in advance!
Derqua

Postby Derqua » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:57 pm

Well first of your going to want to get Dat Edit and FireGraft.
Unofficial FireGraft 1.16.1
DatEdit
Dat Edit, because PyDat is a little troublesome at times.
FireGraft, because it lets you change button sets, which is the heart of your question.

To add abilities to a unit open up Firegraft.
Your going to need to select your 1.16.1 Starcraft.exe.
Save as - "Name of Mod" - Save
Open Button Set tab.
Go to the unit you wish to add the ability.
Select a button from the list, right click, click add item.
The number you enter is where you want the ability to go:
in that order.
Change the side drop downs so that your button has the appearence you want.
Now go to dat requirements.
Go to the use tech area.
Find your tech and change the requirements to include your unit.
Image.

I just made the Dark archon have the ability to return minerals/gas, not like it needs it.

That should be all that you need to know to do that, other than string changes.

To change the strings just open up PyTbl and click on the blue folder to get default strings, then save your modified strings in your folder with the mod in it.

Hope you come by with more questions ;) .
The Watcher

Postby The Watcher » Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:09 am