AI Replay Database and Replay Maker Guide

Help - Resources - AI Scripting - Grafting - Plugins - Modding Projects
User avatar
Archon_Wing
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:22 pm

AI Replay Database and Replay Maker Guide

Postby Archon_Wing » Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:51 pm

I feel like recording another set of AI vs AI reps. There's nothing really wrong with the ones we have; they are still useful for quick testing. I was just bored and would like to see bot fights on different maps. ;)

Download Map Pack:
here
The New Blank Exe:
http://www.broodwarai.com/forums/index.php...ost&id=1675
Obs triggers:
[attachment=1714:melee.new.zip]


One thing that caught my interest are the melee triggers that could remove an observer. http://www.broodwarai.com/forums/index.php...post&p=3925 Occasionally, the AI goes rush the observer instead and that can be a bit annoying.

Unfortunately these triggers are incompatible with the current set of Ai vs AI reps. The comp will expand to where the observer was. Wtf? Apparently it sees the observer's spot as a base and tries to go there. However this is easily dealt with by having the observer at a resource spot since it'd be ok for the comp to expand there anyways. On 2 player maps, one could just place the observer spot at a natural (though it will take a few restarts so the comps are in the proper positions)

What I would like to request then, are AI vs AI reps on the original bwaiwar replays: Ideally, all the matchups would be best, but that doesn't matter too much. TvP/TvZ/PvZ being the most important.



How do I record a AI vs AI replay?
1.) Download and run Blank AI Vista. It's just an AI mod with no AI so nothing will happen, but this is ok because AI actions are never saved; the AI plays itself again in a replay
http://www.broodwarai.com/forums/index.php...ost&id=1675

2.) Start a local area network game (Multiplayer, expansion, Local Area Network (UDP)), and choose "top vs bottom"

3.) Pick the map. Note: for 2 player maps, you have to edit the map. Place a start location at a resource area (doesn't really matter which one). You may have to restart the map a few times to get the correct obs location. If a map is locked (staredit doesn't open), you could use http://osmap.clanunknown.net/ Remember to edit maps with scmdraft 2:
http://www.stormcoast-fortress.net/downloads/scmdraft2ZIP/

4.) Set the game up so that you and one comp are on one team, and the other comp is on the other. Make sure the comp on your "team" is the same race as you.

5.) Start the game, minimize Starcraft (hold alt and press tab) and have a coffee break or something. I recommend doing this when your comp is idle

6.) When you feel like the game is long enough (preferably 30 minutes at least), go back into Starcraft and quit the game.
This program allows you to speed up starcraft, thus making it easier to record replays. http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...?topic_id=80446

7.) Save the Replay.</div></div></div>

I have a replay now. How do I use it?
1.) Grab any AI mod on this site.
2.) Download WinMPQ
http://shadowflare.samods.org/dwnload.html#WinMPQ
Follow instructions there.
3.) Download the melee new.zip at the start of this post.
4.) Run WinMPQ and click open. Open the AI mod file.
5.) Drag melee.trg into WinMPQ
6.) It'll ask you for a folder type triggers Click ok
Now just run the file, and you're set! Just watch the replay you created as usual.
</div></div></div>


Maps I have done already (May not record race vs race but definitely will do TvZ TvP ZvP):
Heartbreak Ridge- Done- mineral walls will have to go, but AI generally can't exploit this
Python- Done- Mineral on islands removed, because AI can't mine away. Since it never exploits that by floating an early command center, this isn't too big of a deal.
Colosseum- Done
Byzantium 2.3- Done
Tau Cross- Done</div></div></div>

Maps I'd like to request reps of:
(Luna, Eres, Lost Temple, and perhaps Rush Hour) All the maps except Eres can be found here: http://www.iccup.com/files/view/iCCup_maps_02.html Eres is found here:
http://www.broodwarai.com/forums/index.php...ost&id=1155</div></div></div>

Any replay you want to record would be appreciated, even if it just has different positions from the ones we have.

Unfortunately, most of the other pro maps tend to have pathing issues, so AI rarely works well on them. Any suggestions are appreciated.
User avatar
JH24
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:25 pm

Postby JH24 » Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Cool, I'll try to record several replays too in the coming days.


Are the maps Crusaders and K8 also allowed? I've have some very good experiences with them. I'll try Luna too, but I do have to add that personally I had a lot of AI troubles on that map. Especially with a Zerg AI in the left bottom corner or a Terran AI in the upper right corner.
User avatar
JH24
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:25 pm

Postby JH24 » Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:05 pm

@ Bajadulce,



There are two Luna maps? I didn't know that. Which one have you created? The main problems I had were the Zerg AI becoming inactive and the Terran AI taking almost 15 minutes just to build a group of marines. But only on the locations I mentioned earlier.


By the way, Bajadulce, I haven't forgotten about your awesome mod. I'll contact you soon about that,



@ Archon_Wing



The Exe you posted doesn't work for me, AI doesn't start. Or do I need another one? (I have XP)
User avatar
Archon_Wing
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:22 pm

Postby Archon_Wing » Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:39 pm

Baja
Maybe you might want to organize a BWAIWar IV if you're going to all this trouble

Hah, that'd be so many reps to watch. But it wouldn't really be fair if most scripts weren't updated. On the other hand, I felt like the last BWAIwar maps had a lot of problems, namely Forlorn Realms being a shithole for Terran (Racine T losing to Blizz z wtf?), and Shine being unplayable for Zerg which equaled many free losses. It could also never place sunkens right in either map. Also, I've seen every AI break somehow on Shine, and it doesn't even expand right sometimes. And of course there was an infamous LT game where one AI just decided to wall itself in. ;)

I'm always eager to have more replays to test out my mods with. One thing I've noticed is that pre 1.16.1 replays involving SCV's have odd worker behavior when watched in 1.16.1. The SCV's tend to stand around the worker line.


Does it still do that in 1.16.1?

As for making maps, I don't think I will, since I hate using Scmdraft. :lol:

Jh24:
Are the maps Crusaders and K8 also allowed? I've have some very good experiences with them.

These aren't really good for 1v1 but you can try 2v2/3v3 for kicks. But you can record any map you want.

@ Archon_Wing



The Exe you posted doesn't work for me, AI doesn't start. Or do I need another one? (I have XP)


Yea, it's not supposed to do anything, hence the blank AI part. ^^
User avatar
JH24
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:25 pm

Postby JH24 » Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:49 pm

@ Bajadulce


I don't know were exactly I got the map, when I find it I send you a link. It has some strange resource spots (like two minerals and one geyser) but the AI does seem to feel at home on the map.


@ Archon_Wing


Oops. ^^ I overlooked that part. Now it makes sense.
User avatar
Archon_Wing
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:22 pm

Postby Archon_Wing » Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:33 pm

Hah, I don't really like the idea of tweaking ai against specific scripts. You could easily write some BBS rush build and score free wins. ;) But then again my ais still get pwned by counterzerg sometimes. >.<

Edit: On Python, there's an island that the comp can't take because of a mineral chunk in the way. I just left it that way because it rarely changed the outcome of a game, but maybe I could remove it.

For the purposes of an AI war, I think this could be done for Destination too, since the AI can't mine away that mineral chunk nor really exploit it either.

Return to “StarCraft Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest