Page 13 of 19

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:33 am
by Corbo
[quote name='bajadulce' post='3163' date='Mar 17 2008, 12:19 AM']Ok all is clear. SCAIEdit adds new string entries for new strings as does PYAI. I can't remember how SCAIEDit handles new ID's, but it's possible that new id's are appended to the end of stat_txt.tbl as well.


[quote name='Corbo' post='3160' date='Mar 16 2008, 08:51 PM']I became a modder before I got BW then I got both SC and BW but they were both in spanish and I completely hated it so I made a mod to play BW and SC in english and not in spanish :P[/quote].. this is actually quite interesting. Did you copy each and every string entry to your Spanish stat_txt.tbl? Or can you just change the tables locale id somehow?
[/quote]
The entries for each unit were the same, and I did not only change the stat_txt.tbl. There's also more files in the game that are for languages.
Network.tbl is one I recall right now, there are of course some files I couldn't edit I think they were only .bin files because back then I thought "binedit" was for editing iscript.bin so I didn't edit bins :P

I don't know if setting the locale IDs would work, it probably doesn't because I remember having some issues for when I changed something the modification would not run but I didn't try it such way when I did it.
It was just like "must put files on mpq" and pretty much done.

I suppose you should be able to make a conversion where you can select multiple languages, like your installers for AI modes (Easy, Medium, Insane) but instead of that languages.
You just need to know the right persons that could send other languages files :P
And probably sounds too but that would make the mod too big, heh.

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:38 am
by XzxFlamerxzX
Heh! When I first started modding SC, I didnt know what Binedit was for either. I tried to edit both aiscript.bin and iscript.bin with it because they are .bin files. It didnt work :P.

Now, I edit bins for mods. As for PyAI, will a GUI be implemented anytime soon?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:35 am
by poiuy_qwert
Well I was thinking PyAI might be the first of the programs to get a GUI (PyAI is kinda the diamond of PyMS in my opinion). If I can sit down and pull my act together I might be able to put it in v0.2 (i actually like that idea now that i think about it), but dont get your hopes too high!

Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:55 am
by poiuy_qwert
Just a small update, here is the GUI so far. Its coming together quickly. Im using SCAIEdit icons if you noticed (will help some users move from SCAIEdit easier).
(Image now on first post)
Note: This GUI will not have a build in script editor, you will still have to decompile and compile from TXT files, this is just for ease of use and management.

Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:25 am
by XzxFlamerxzX
Well, Im fine with using notepad to edit the scripts. The GUI would be very useful for managing the interior of your aiscript.bin files with import and export. How about allowing selection of modded files? An area where you can choose your .dat files, .tbl files, and the external definition thing.

It decompiles with a double click on the script right?

Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:04 am
by poiuy_qwert
Yeah you can edit those things, they are just in different windows, accessed by the toolbar or menubar. There will be a few ways to decompile: double click, right click menu, toolbar, and menubar can all do it.

Edit: Updated and moved the images of the GUI to the first post, will update the image randomly whenever i have something nice to show

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:34 pm
by Spirus
Wow, that's a lot of options and buttons! The GUI looks great.

This GUI will not have a build in script editor, you will still have to decompile and compile from TXT files, this is just for ease of use and management.
will the GUI be able to check for errors in the txt scripts?

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:34 am
by poiuy_qwert
The GUI has all the features PyAI already had, which does lots of error checking, then just a bunch of shortcut features like moving scripts from bwscript.bin to aiscript.bin and vice versa. Any ideas would be appreciated!

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:08 am
by poiuy_qwert
Well me and baja were talking on the shoutbox about the defenseuse_* and defensebuild_* commands. There seem to be some references to things like defenseuse_ag(1, Terran Marine) crashing (marine is not an air unit, but is a ground unit). I have code in PyAI which checks if the units are air/ground, but i commented it out since the default blizzard ai scripts had stuff like defenseuse_gg(1, Terran Wraith) all over it, and I found it annoying to get like 20 warnings for something that doesn't matter. So two questions:
1) Does it actually have any bad effects?
2) Even if it doesn't, should I include the warning?