BWAI Launcher Support/Bug Report

Help - Resources - AI Scripting - Grafting - Plugins - Modding Projects
User avatar
Archon_Wing
Posts: 901
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:22 pm

Postby Archon_Wing » Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:59 pm

Hmm BWAIlauncher can't seem to find the starcraft.exe, it asks me where starcraft is located every time on Windows 7.

The reg entries are already in.
User avatar
Taranok
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:41 pm

Postby Taranok » Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:36 am

hmm.... i cant seem to edit my own post...

Anyway, I found the instructions on page 6 of this topic. By following those does that mean that I can change scripts without exiting Starcraft?
User avatar
Taranok
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:41 pm

Postby Taranok » Sun Jan 01, 2012 10:05 pm

I followed the instructions to link it with Chaoslauncher. I closed and reopened BWAILauncher. I hit OK with the selected AIs. It launched Chaoslauncher, and then I hit start from Chaoslauncher and Starcraft started, but the AIs loaded were the default AIs. Am I doing something wrong?

And I didn't select the Blizzard Ais.
User avatar
Archon_Wing
Posts: 901
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:22 pm

Postby Archon_Wing » Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:50 am

Windows 7, Brood War Digital Download-- BWAI launcher doesn't work at all if I try 02) AI vs AI-- it says Starcraft crashed, the others work; they ask me where starcraft is though.
User avatar
JH24
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:25 pm

Postby JH24 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:11 am

[quote name='Archon_Wing' date='13 January 2012 - 05:50 PM' timestamp='1326505836' post='10596']
Windows 7, Brood War Digital Download-- BWAI launcher doesn't work at all if I try 02) AI vs AI-- it says Starcraft crashed, the others work; they ask me where starcraft is though.
[/quote]


This happens on my system (WIndows 7 - Brood War Digital Download) as well. The others AI packages work well but the 02) AI vs AI hangs for me. (I have to copy the scripts to for example 03) Racine's Rebels and then they can be played) I also have to select my Starcraft exe each time to start BWAI Launcher.
User avatar
poiuy_qwert
Posts: 548
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:14 am

Postby poiuy_qwert » Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:14 pm

[quote name='Taranok' date='01 January 2012 - 05:05 PM' timestamp='1325455506' post='10556']
I followed the instructions to link it with Chaoslauncher. I closed and reopened BWAILauncher. I hit OK with the selected AIs. It launched Chaoslauncher, and then I hit start from Chaoslauncher and Starcraft started, but the AIs loaded were the default AIs. Am I doing something wrong?[/quote]

Dunno. After trying to do it, extract the aiscript.bin from the patch_rt.mpq and check whats inside it.


[quote name='Archon_Wing' date='13 January 2012 - 08:50 PM' timestamp='1326505836' post='10596']
Windows 7, Brood War Digital Download-- BWAI launcher doesn't work at all if I try 02) AI vs AI-- it says Starcraft crashed, the others work; they ask me where starcraft is though.
[/quote]

Hm, no idea what is going on with the crash. For the asking where starcraft is, I think the digital download uses a different registry key for the StarCraft path.


I'll look into these asap and hopefully be able to give you guys some steps to get around the issues.
User avatar
Taranok
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:41 pm

Postby Taranok » Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:25 pm

The scripts in the back up patch_rt are the selected ones.
User avatar
poiuy_qwert
Posts: 548
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:14 am

Postby poiuy_qwert » Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:18 am

Wait... The scripts in the backup are the selected ones? Then you selected the wrong mpq in step 4, you were supposed to choose the patch_rt.mpq not the backup patch_rt.
User avatar
Archon_Wing
Posts: 901
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:22 pm

Postby Archon_Wing » Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:29 am

[quote name='bajadulce' date='15 January 2012 - 12:18 AM' timestamp='1326615538' post='10605']
Great to see this program still being used and so popular. BWAILauncher is a fantastic tool for keeping all the various scripts together in one database with the ease of compiling any given one!

BWAI launcher doesn't work at all if I try 02) AI vs AI-- it says Starcraft crashed
Some of the SEMPQ's on the launcher were created with MPQDraft and others were made with Firegraft. I imagine the AI vs. AI SEMPQ might be a simple MPQDraft one? One that might not be compliant with Win7. You could try swapping that with one that works or even use the "set target MPQ" option. One of the great features of targeting a Firegraft SEMPQ, is to take advantage of the "Terran completes construction" exe edit.

For the asking where starcraft is, I think the digital download uses a different registry key for the StarCraft path
Yes, the digital download doesn't contain a "program key". Firegraft (the Sempq's launched by BWAILauncher) is looking for this key. If you add this key to your registry, this won't be an issue. Check here for details on how to add to your registry if you don't have:
index.php?showtopic=549&view=findpost&p=9883
[/quote]

Thanks. The regkey worked, and I made a copy of Entropy3.exe into the Ai vs Ai folder, and made it point to that. That worked as well

Return to “StarCraft Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest