Idea for extremely reactive AI

Help - Resources - AI Scripting - Grafting - Plugins - Modding Projects
billking

Idea for extremely reactive AI

Postby billking » Sun May 18, 2008 10:02 pm

Hi. I have never done any AI mod work for StarCraft before, and to be honest I don't play very much. However, I watch professional matches with great interest on YouTube, etc.

The concept of a good computer AI is naturally intriguing to me and I'm interested in working on a script, although I haven't even started.

My concept is an extremely reactive AI. It should be any AI that actually looks at what the opponent is doing and reacts accordingly. Our tools to that end are limited to: enemyowns_jump, enemyresources_jump, and notowns_jump. Also, since micro is the computer's weakness, I intend to have it compensate with macro. It should expand whenever it has the opportunity to do so, hopefully crushing opponents with hordes of (poorly micro'd) units. Therefore, early game strategy would be to expand and defend, possibly with harassment of enemy expansions in the process. Although this is hard to do, I think some can be done with the tools we have, particularly in the early game.

Quick noob question: Does enemyowns_jump count partially built units? For example, if it's run against a player who is currently building a Spawning Pool, does it come back positive or negative?

Got to go. More questions, etc. later.
ashara

Postby ashara » Sun May 18, 2008 10:13 pm

Hi,

Using these commands is quite a good idea to make appropriate counters, I haven't had the time to put that in my Vshuman AI but I plan to add it.
I don't know what kind of AI you want to do but don't expect miracles, without good micro the AI won't have a chance against a decent human player in a normal 1V1.

Does enemyowns_jump count partially built units? For example, if it's run against a player who is currently building a Spawning Pool, does it come back positive or negative?