Page 2 of 2

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:29 pm
by Ahzz
I repeat again:
yes and I'm saying it shouldnt be. if farms_notiming isn't in the code, then it wont build the second ovie when you dont want

so, remove farms_notiming for now.


the 8 zerglings... I guess it kind of cannot be properly controlled. They tend to build eighth one even if ordered otherwise. It doesn't slow the computer down really, as the two last one should just come afterwards and it doesn't slow the economy up either.

Also, your problem about not building lings before upgrade... one solution is to make it train 6 zerglings, and give a separate upgrade command after that.. The timing will probably be accurate even if you add the upgrade after train command, as it should start upgrading while lings are in the making. But only use this solution if my code will not help.

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:39 pm
by avance70
yeah i almost didnt notice it myself ;)

here's one fun replay - the usual: start the game with the provided exe and load the replay
the zerg ai is programmed by me (but its nothing special - actually changed the default zerg scripts - i will develop it further)
the protoss is regular comp

at first zerg rushes killing a few zealots which makes the protoss a bit mad
and he sends a lot of zealots which slay quite a few drones, while the zerg defends with mutalisks
now while the zerg tries to repair his losses, the protoss takes an expansion
but zerg, with 3 fully operational larvae factories quickly masses zerglings and mutalisks which take out the expansion
and make an expansion himself
zerg now has the upper hand, but still is not able to finish the game
protoss insidiously tries to make a hidden expansion but forgets that zerg is also played by a cpu and it already sees the whole map ;)
many zerglings and many mutalisks come and quickly finish off the expansion
as well as the main base a few minutes after!

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 1:35 am
by Dreadkillz
I like the AI. it techs very fast to muta/lings. However, it might be lacking some defense if there was an early push b4 spire.

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:18 am
by avance70
well i didnt exactly "change" the default zerg scripts
almose everything the cpu did i programmed
the only thing i used from the default zerg behaviour is the expand scripts
and, as you see, those arent pretty good

so since they are bad, when i rewrite them from the start it will be 100% my script :)

ill try and do some more coding tonight (thats in 10 hours) and we'll see if it show any promise ;)