Want to play against my own AI

Anything related on how to build / improve your AI using BWAPI, BWTA, BWSAL, etc.
aip

Want to play against my own AI

Postby aip » Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:25 pm

hi,

i am a new one in here and a beginner one. i have different questions.

1. How can i play against my own AI?
2. I am bit confused about these fictions provided by BWAPI. Normally to edit AI i have to edit AI scripts but what is happening in these function calls. options are, correct me if i am wrong.
2.1 AI scripts call these type of functions in normal conditions.
2.2 These functions generates new AI scripts.
3. I want to work(access) on predefined scripts bundled with Starcraft by blizzard, how can i access them?

if any question makes no sense please tell me coz i am a beginner.
lowerlogic

Postby lowerlogic » Wed Dec 23, 2009 4:45 am

1. To play against your own AI or another AI that uses BWAPI you need to set up a LAN or online game. Tofucake wrote a guide for testing bots on ICCup: http://starcraftai.rabbitx86.net/index.php?topic=3.0

2. BWAPI controls Starcraft in a completely different way from AI Scripts. AI Scripts cannot be used with BWAPI or vice versa. To make an AI using BWAPI, you need to write the AI in C++ or one of the other programming languages that BWAPI has proxies or wrappers for (Java, Python, etc).

3. I don't know the answer to this, but this question appears to be mostly unrelated to making AIs with BWAPI.

If you're familiar with writing AI Scripts, the BWSAL project is an example of one possible AI that could be created with BWAPI. BWSAL has a build order manager class and other things to help get you started, but best of all it is open source, so you can see how it works and get ideas for how to write your own AIs using BWAPI. The build order manager in BWSAL can execute build orders such as the following:

Code: Select all

this->buildOrderManager->buildAdditional(1,UnitTypes::Terran_Barracks,60);